loading icon

Wills, probate & mental capacity

Home » Services » Wills, probate & private client

From defining your wishes to discussing tax options

No one likes to think about their death and what they’d want to happen to their assets. Sadly, dying without a properly drawn will can cause a great deal of wasted time, unnecessary expense and heartache, as well as hassle from disputes that could easily be avoided. And there are the potential inheritance tax implications to consider, too.

Our service takes you through all the relevant things you need to think about as well as drawing up a will that really reflects your wishes. We can help whether you need a single will for a modest estate, or if your affairs are more complex with both personal and business assets to consider.

Many people avoid paying for a will by using other methods, but often this can be a false economy – we’d be happy to explain to you why.

Trust Registration service – Register your Trust by the 1st September 2022 – read our guide here.

Try our online tool to get you started with preparing your will. 

Contact Us

North, South, East or West. Wherever you are, we’ve got you covered. Contact us today for an informal chat, without obligation. We look forward to hearing from you.

South Devon:
01803 213251

Exeter:
01392 274006

North Devon:
01271 342268

Wills, probate & private client services

Making a will

Contentious probate

Power of attorney

Business succession planning

Trusts

Charity management

Court of protection

Inheritance tax

Probate & estate administration

Care & capacity

Wills, probate & private client news

Protecting your business if you lose mental capacity

Protecting your business if you lose mental capacity

The judicial decision that the will of HRH the Duke of Edinburgh be kept private for the next 90 years highlights that a will generally becomes a public document once probate has been granted, open to be read by anyone with an interest in the estate, highlighting the importance of discussing intentions to avoid later challenges to the estate and to exclude any confidential information.

The cap on care costs

The cap on care costs

The judicial decision that the will of HRH the Duke of Edinburgh be kept private for the next 90 years highlights that a will generally becomes a public document once probate has been granted, open to be read by anyone with an interest in the estate, highlighting the importance of discussing intentions to avoid later challenges to the estate and to exclude any confidential information.

Contact Us






    I give Wollens consent to add me to their mailing list

    Read our Privacy Policy HERE

    Find out more about our specialist team

    Matt Damant | Solicitor
    matt.damant@wollens.co.uk
    01392 301098

    Lisa Ellis | Paralegal
    lisa.ellis@wollens.co.uk
    01803 396609

    Michael Davies | Paralegal
    michael.davies@wollens.co.uk
    01803 837034

    Julie Hyde | Paralegal
    julie.hyde@wollens.co.uk
    01803 225157

    Kennedy Lugg | Trainee Solicitor
    kennedy.lugg@wollens.co.uk
    01803 225131

    Lynn Young 14

    Lynn Young | Legal Assistant
    lynn.young@wollens.co.uk
    01803 225177

    Liz Crawford 9

    Liz Crawford | Solicitor
    liz.crawford@wollens.co.uk
    01803 396607

    Katrina Vallentine 31

    Katrina Vollentine | Partner - Head of Private Client team
    katrina.vollentine@wollens.co.uk
    01803 225181

    Karen Miller 10

    Karen Miller | Partner
    karen.miller@wollens.co.uk
    01271 342268

    Jaime Denega 26 1 683x1024 1

    Jaime Denega | Associate Solicitor
    jaime.denega@wollens.co.uk
    01803 213251

    Isobel Yandle 14

    Isobel Yandle | Solicitor
    isobel.yandle@wollens.co.uk
    01803 396635

    Iain Douglas 13

    Iain Douglas | Legal Executive Elder Client
    iain.douglas@wollens.co.uk
    01803 225195

    Helen Jarvis 10

    Helen Jarvis | Solicitor
    helen.jarvis@wollens.co.uk
    01803 396616

    Shirley Tull | Consultant
    shirley.tull@wollens.co.uk
    01803 396631

    Edward Lee 12

    Edward Lee | Associate Solicitor
    edward.lee@wollens.co.uk
    01803 225155

    Deborah Baker 25

    Deborah Baker | Partner
    deborah.baker@wollens.co.uk
    01271 341000

    Chris Linton 10

    Christopher Linton | Partner
    christopher.linton@wollens.co.uk
    01803 225127

    Charlotte McGregor | Partner
    charlotte.mcgregor@wollens.co.uk
    01392 274006

    Jessica Wycliffe-Jones | Associate Solicitor
    Jessica.wycliffe-jones@wollens.co.uk
    01803 396634

    Thomas Calder 16

    Tom Calder | Associate Solicitor
    tom.calder@wollens.co.uk
    01803 396603

    Alexandra Jenkins 12

    Alex Jenkins | Partner
    alex.jenkins@wollens.co.uk
    01271 342268